Sandwich Infant School

Where everyone is valued and learning is fun

Key Stage One

Our Key Stage One classes consist of two classes in Year One (Kingfishers and Hedgehogs), and two classes in Year Two (Giraffes and Koalas). 

Within Key Stage One, we aim to meet the expectations of the National Curriculum by teaching the knowledge and skills from our well-planned curriculum that has been designed to meet the needs of each and every child in our school. Our curriculum is broad and balanced, and delivered in a variety of ways that enable our children to embed and build upon knowledge taught.

Our curriculum overviews and separate curriculum pages can provide further information on the content of each core and foundation subject within our school. Our curriculum leads have developed these plans with class teachers, to ensure parity between classes, but to also ensure progression of knowledge and skills. Our teachers have the ability to deliver the content in the most appropriate ways that will support the children in their class.  

Our school values are: 

  • Connection
  • Curiosity
  • Determination
  • Honesty

In our school we live out these values alongside the British Values to enable our pupils to make informed choices and become respectful individuals.

Year One 2023-24 Curriculum Overview

Year Two 2023-24 Curriculum Overview